Real Life

g-2

I woke up this morning to a turkey vulture, fat and bloody headed, eating a dead squirrel; a casualty of my assault on the chipmunks. I felt sorry for his death, as I did the others. But this was the circle of life. Imbalance throws things…out of balance. Some people might take issue with my speeding up the circle of life, but I imagine that they have never grown their own food, nor thought about where the food they eat comes from -vegetarian, vegan or otherwise. Things die so that we may live. This is a fact. (We won’t even get into the Havahart traps I set. My friends are now calling them havahartattack traps. Heart conditions in rodents is real).

g-21

Life on the farm can be tedious. Beautiful, but tedious. Plants are like pets without the snuggling. But we can eat them in the end, so there’s that. It’s been a long time since I’ve traveled. I don’t mean vacation, I mean a true journey. Nowadays my soaps travel more than I do. Hawaii + Iceland most recently. Today I was reminded that travelling is all about your state of mind. When you travel the smallest things are marvelous. The color of the sky. The smell of the air. I was stringing pole bean strings, realizing I would run out of twine, when I heard someone playing the bagpipes…or uilleann pipes (I could not be sure, I listened closely, but it has been many years since I lived in Ireland). Behind me in the pear trees bluebirds chattered. I stopped and stood up, listening to the pipes, watching the male and then the female fly from pear to apple. I wondered if they were egging on their new fledgling who Eric and I somehow spied with binoculars in the crook of a maple branch, all bloated, fuzzy and speckle-feathered.

g-22

“This,” I thought “is what travelling is like.”
I tied up the rest of my twine pretending I was WWOOFing somewhere in Ireland, Scotland, or Wales.

g-23

Every day is a day of make-believe, of adventure, if we so choose it. The dirty dishes, the ceiling that needs sheet rock, the bills that need paying -these are just distractions.  They are not life. They are byproducts of it.

Leave a Reply

