When the well runneth dry and your legs fall off

kirk-children-11-x-17

If I’m being honest, I’m feeling pretty drained. But I had a realization this morning: my well runneth dry sometimes; AND: This is OKAY.

Then I had another realization. My well wasn’t really dry. I was simply diverting the flow. After at least a week’s worth of beating myself up for not feeling more communicative regarding what I’m up to (what some people call ‘social media’), I realized that I actually HAVE been doing this… just not here.

It’s difficult to run a business. It is twice as difficult to run two businesses. And that, my friends, is exactly what is happening. Some ‘business-ey’ folk look at us cock-eyed. I know, I know, spreading yourself thin, jack-of-all-trades master of none, blah blah blah. But these businesses dovetail together, ebbing and flowing throughout the seasons, inspiring one another, feeding off of one another. So we do them both. And sometimes one appears quiet and dormant, even though both are continually humming along. Sometimes it takes great amounts of inspiration and creativity to push to new limits with one, and the other suffers. This is true. But there always comes a time when these roles reverse. It makes both stronger in the end.

house-web

I’ve been painting the dining room ceiling. For a week straight I was stepping up on to a 2 1/2 foot stool with my dominant leg. Over and over and over, until I realized, one day while doing yoga that my right thigh looked like a body builder’s, while my left looked like a 12 year old boy’s. This is what happens with our businesses. Sometimes you need to sacrifice one for the other. But then you realize you’re doing it, and it stops you in your tracks and you realize that you need to start using your scrawny leg before it falls off.

At first you hold on to the chair for support and it makes you realize just how far gone you are. But it doesn’t take long before that leg begins to support itself alone. The dominant leg starts to shrink back in size and the weaker leg catches up. Each business takes turns being the dominant and the weak. And sometimes, you just can’t bear it anymore and you stop painting the ceiling because you feel like you’re going to tear a quad. That’s okay too. We all need to replenish our wells.

Kirk-family-11-x-17

If you are at all interested in what I’m doing when I’m not here (and it’s okay if you’re not), there are some other places you can find me. When I’m not on The Kirk Estate’s Instagram, I’m on The Parlor’s Instagram. When I’m not sending out The Kirk Estate Newsletter, I am sending out The Parlor Newsletter. And if you’re not sick of me yet, when I’m not posting on The Kirk Estate Facebook, I’m posting on The Parlor Facebook. Thanks for following. It makes me feel less invisible. It makes me feel like my legs are not going to fall off.

Leave a Reply

