the rush

IMG_3254w

This won’t be a long post, because I haven’t much to say. The other night, when I’d already finished filling all of my orders and I finally, actually had a moment to myself, I didn’t know what to do with it. Next thing I knew I was back in my studio, cutting soap. Like a sleepwalker. I cut soap and drank a glass of wine and only stopped when my eyes were blurry and my back ached. Then I went to sleep and dreamed about soap.

IMG_3248w

The rush is finally beginning to slow. The gasping for breath and the thinking that there could possibly not be enough time in the day to cut so much soap, wrap so much soap, fill so many packages with soap, and send them off to the post office -is coming to a trickling end. Of course there are the last minute shoppers. The ones who inform me that they need their orders before Tuesday, when they’ve ordered on Thursday, and have not paid for upgraded shipping.

IMG_3259w

Are you one of these people? Don’t you realize what a mail-clogged and package-overflowing world your order is being sent off into? Do you see that this is impossible? I shipped a package to Albany on the 12th and it still hasn’t arrived. Albany is 30 minutes from my house. I am so worried about that little package. But more so I am worried that it will be perceived as my fault that it hasn’t arrived even though I shipped it out on the day it was ordered. We do what we can. Sometimes it’s just not enough. Merry Christmas.

IMG_3251w

I just checked the package again (as I obsessively do). I actually shipped it on the 15th. That was merely three days ago. This has been the longest week.

Enough with all that.

Now I just want to say thank you to those of you who have supported us this Holiday season.
(Even though I also just mocked some of you for your unreasonable expections. I still appreciate you).
Thank you for your orders. They are literally what helps to keep us alive and doing what we do.
And we couldn’t keep doing it without you.

Merry Christmas.

One thought on “the rush

  1. Lol! This made me smile 🙂 As an Etsy shop owner myself, I love the little box you can put the tracking number in. Then you can just point at it and say, “I sent it out such and so day!!! You can see where it’s at by looking at this number …” 🙂 🙂 Yea, I really like that little box…

Leave a Reply

