It’s Happening…so fast

IMG_2488

Spring has finally sprung and for that I am so grateful. The windows have been open more often than they’ve been closed (save for that spell the week before last when it was snowing, but the day before yesterday it was 87 and so I’ve already forgotten). Woody came and went. His visit this year felt too short. So short I didn’t take a single picture.

The cold weather kept us mostly inside. The guys worked on repairing the upper walls of our dining room while I filled a seemingly endless stream of Mother’s Day orders. By the time things started to warm up and the orders began to slow down I had to leave the boys on their own and headed down to Philly. I came home to the compost flipped, rotted fascia board repaired, and trees planted -including a new magnolia we bought in honor of our trip to BKLYN. We’ve been meaning to plant a magnolia for nine years. You know what they say about planting trees… the best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago. The second best time is now.

IMG_2480

The beginning of last week was hard. All on my own after a week of having first Eric and then Woody around to keep me company. But I quickly settled in to a really beautiful spring routine. One so lovely and busily meditative that I knew I would be sad when was forced to change it. But I didn’t expect to change it so quickly. It seems like we went from spring daydreaming right in to summer full-steam-ahead. I said this to Eric last night and he reminded me it was only the beginning of May.

Spring was filled with promise and possibility. Eric and I walked around in the mornings and daydreamed. Not yet distracted by fields that need mowing or weeds that are thigh high. Spring was nascent. The buds and flowers push forth a little more each day. After turning soil, mulching perennial beds, and watering seedlings, there was little more to do but stare. And then keep working.

IMG_2487

That was last week. This week the grass already needs cutting and my back is sore. I’ve planted two big ol’ beds of potatoes and I’ve got six more to go. The leaves went from pretty little lime green buds to full fledged leaves overnight. The weeds are pushing up through the mulch. The walkways need covering and we need RAIN!

IMG_2479

But I’m taking a new approach to the farm -to life in general. No worrying. And so I am content to take it in. I do what I can when I can for as long as I can. And when I can no longer, I move inside. I cut soap, fill seed packets, stuff packages and send them off. Fretting about what needs to get done doesn’t get it done any faster. It just wears me out. And I’m SO done with that.

P.S. I have a thing for lilacs (who doesn’t) but this time of year is my favorite. Right before they open their scent is so different. So powerful and intoxicating. It carries itself on the breeze and I sniff and I sniff. Such short seasons these spring things.

2 thoughts on “It’s Happening…so fast

  1. Spring is finally here as well! My husband and I have been breaking our backs putting in an orchard, asparagus and strawberries. It’s supposed to be in the mid-80s this week. I’m going to revel in it 😀 … because it’s not 40 below anymore!!!!

Leave a Reply

